Your Claim Begins...
When you have a work injury, your family’s future may depend on your Worker’s Compensation case. A seemingly minor injury can often develop into something serious. Don’t take a chance with your future. Follow these work injury rules.
Work Injury Rules:
- Immediately report the injury to a supervisor. Always! You only have 60 days under Idaho Code §72-701 to report the claim. Make sure your employer files this written First Report of Injury and Claim for Benefits form within the 60 days. Do not open yourself up to the defense that you did not report your accident to your employer within the 60 day period. Not following up on this detail can end your claim. The sooner you report the claim the better your chances will be of winning your claim. If your employer does not file a First Report of Injury and Claim for Benefits form with the Idaho Industrial Commission, you will need to file it yourself. Remember you only have 60 days to make sure the accident gets reported to the insurance company and the Idaho Industrial Commission. If you need help filing this report, we will help you make sure it is filed properly. We will do this for you free of charge.
- Always get medical treatment the day you have your injury. The sooner the better. If your employer has not identified a preferred provider for your work injury claim, and your injury is not an emergency, go to your primary care doctor, a doctor that knows you and will support your claim. The upside to going to your doctor is that you will be able to then influence the choice of a specialist doctor if you need more serious medical care. Don’t listen to the adjuster. They will choose a doctor that will help the insurance company, not you and your family. Making a mistake on the choice of doctor can derail your entire claim. Make it carefully.
- In choosing your doctor, make sure that he or she will support your claim. There are doctors in Idaho that will not help you with your Idaho worker’s compensation claim. They do not want to get involved. Under Idaho law your doctor has to be willing to testify to support your case. Make sure that your doctor will not have a problem supporting your claim.
- Take photos of the incident site as soon as possible.
- Get names and contact information of witnesses. Have them write down helpful information and give it to you. You want to make sure that everything is documented about your work injury.
- Don’t sign any medical releases.
- Don’t give a recorded statement until you have talked with an experienced worker’s compensation lawyer. It is so easy to say the wrong thing that will damage your case forever. It is recorded and never goes away. If you have already given a recorded statement by the time you visit this website, come in and talk with us so that we can discuss how to control the damage that may have been caused to your case.
- Always tell the truth. Never deny previous injuries or claims.
- Hire an experienced Idaho workers compensation lawyer that will fight for you and investigate whether you have a third party case against someone other than your employer that is at fault for causing your injuries.
Call 208.232.6101 or 877.232.6101 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will answer your worker’s compensation questions for free. There is no obligation.